ProQuest www.csa.com
 
About CSA Products Support & Training News and Events Contact Us
 
RefWorks
  
Discovery Guides Areas
>
>
>
>
>
 
  
e-Journal

 

Automotive Transmissions: Efficiently Transferring Power from Engine to Wheels
(Released January 2008)

 
  by Chao-Hsu Yao  

Review

Key Citations

Media

Visuals

Glossary

Editor
 
The Future Development of
Automotive Transmission Systems

Contents

It is likely that, with the progress of new material technology, the CVT will gradually replace the conventional automatic transmission due to its high fuel efficiency and smooth gear shift. The technology of semi-automatic transmission systems will also be improved to perform smooth gear shift and extend the cars' lifetime, without losing fast acceleration and fuel efficiency. The torque converter with fluid coupling may be improved, or may no longer be used for cars in the future due to its low-efficiency power transfer. The gear shift of the manual transmission will be controlled by computer instead of engaging/disengaging the clutch and moving the gear selector by hand. For some modern cars, using push-buttons behind the steering wheel, instead of a conventional shift lever or stick, also saves gear shift time when shifting manually. An adaptive transmission control (ATC) has also been invented by using a computer to recognize and memorize different drivers' styles, and determining the best shifting timing for different drivers. As mentioned in the Introduction, a transmission system is needed for a vehicle due to the internal combustion engine's property of running at high pressure at high speed but low pressure at low speed. If someday an engine with different properties is invented, the transmission system may no longer be necessary, but can still get the vehicle to reach its maximum speed in a couple of seconds.

© 2008, ProQuest LLC. All rights reserved.

References

  1. "Steam Engine Invented," Antique Farming. http://www.antiquefarming.com/steamengine.html

  2. "How Steam Engines Work?" HowStuffWorks, Inc. http://www.howstuffworks.com/steam.htm

  3. "Steam Engine Operation, " HowStuffWorks, Inc. http://static.howstuffworks.com/flash/steam-engine.swf

  4. "Self-Adjusting Clutch Mechanism," PatentStorm LLC. http://www.patentstorm.us/patents/5456345-fulltext.html

  5. "Double Clutch," Wikipedia. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_clutch

  6. "Semi-Automatic Transmission," Wikipedia Foundation, Inc. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semi-automatic_transmission

  7. "How Automatic Transmission Works?" HowStuffWorks, Inc. http://auto.howstuffworks.com/automatic-transmission3.htm

  8. Charles Ofria, "A Short Course on Automatic Transmission," The Family Car Web. Magazine, http://www.familycar.com/

  9. "Internal-Combustion Engine," Answers Corporation http://www.answers.com/internal%20combustion%20engine

  10. "How Two-Stroke Engines Work?" HowStuffWorks, Inc. http://science.howstuffworks.com/two-stroke2.htm

  11. "How Car Engines Work?" HowStuffWorks, Inc. http://auto.howstuffworks.com/engine1.htm

  12. "Magura Motorcycle Components," Sand Wizards Racing. http://www.sandwizards.com/Magura_review.htm